Assumption and Abe

Decades ago while flipping through a magazine I came upon an anecdote about Abraham Lincoln. When Abe was a young defense lawyer it is said he countered a prosecuting attorney’s closing argument with this:

Abe addressed the jury, “I’d like to begin with a little story”, he said, “Little Jimmy came running to his Pa. “Pa come quick, he said, Johnny and Sally are fixin’ to pee in the barn.” His Father paused and then asked him why he thought such a thing, and Jimmy replied, “Because Sally’s dress is pulled up and Johnny’s pants are down.” His Father replied, “Son, I think you got your facts all right, but your conclusion’s all wrong.” Abe did not challenge the facts of the prosecutor only the conclusion.

As I listen to people beat one another up with facts in support of their conclusions, I often chuckle remembering this story. And I have to wonder what it would take for all of us to stop for a moment and reflect on what it is that we know, not simply believe or assume.

If we did, I am confident that we would all find that the sum of what we know far outweighs the emotional roller coaster of assumption.

At the end of the day, what is that we know?

In this moment I am alive. Life is a powerful resource. I cannot control the comings and goings around me, but I have the ability to find my way, if I so chose. Peace is a possibility that comes to the living. All kinds of people have discovered peace, regardless of circumstance.

This is what I know. And if this is my knowing, then let the game begin!

Belief and assumption are the parents of confusion. And confusion is the harbinger of pain. In thinking on this I remembered this quote by Isaac Asimov:

“Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in a while, or the light won’t come in.”

Maybe its time we scrub those windows and let a little light in!

 

This piece aired on WDRT’s Consider This, Thursday, May 31.

Leave a comment