We do not know…

what we can do until we try.

Everyday brings challenge. Today the 30 degree temperatures and gentle rain bring on more of the ice that hinders movement. It is easy to ask, “What the hell am I doing here?” but I have learned it is of more benefit to pay attention and to take each step carefully. It is better to breath and keep my body lose, rather than tense up for the fall that may or may not come. It is better to give a chuckle that people actually think there is no such thing as climate change rather than berate them. It is best to take these opportunities of adversity and create ways to make better whatever comes.

The proverbial making lemonade out of lemons doesn’t come out of the air. It comes from human beings who – whatever hand fate has dealt – are able  to keep walking with hope and beauty in their hearts. That is the everyday challenge.

I am learning that I can use everything available to me to make the path safe for me to walk. I have used straw and lime, ash and dung. I have learned that once my footing is secure, then I can think about making others safe. But most of all I allow myself the simple truth that this time will pass and the ice will melt and the grass will replace the bleak winter that has held so much for me to remember and to learn. I will not curse this time, no matter how much I fall. Because it is my time. It will not come again. And what I am learning today will never leave me.

We do not know what we can do until we try.

One thought on “We do not know…

Leave a Reply

