You can’t always get what you want

But if you try sometimes you just might find you get what you need…

Beauty is a rescued mule. He is willful and curious just like me. He is not a fan of needless boundaries – also like me – and we are starting to work out our plan of coexistence.

I have loved him from the first moment I met him. It has not been the easiest relationship. Beauty was full of fear and an escape artist. The first time I walked into a circle corral with him, I bolted fairly sure he could have taken me out. I don’t have experience with mules and he didn’t have experience with me, so it has been quite a dance.

He has allowed a lead – for short durations, and I have begun to realize his need for companionship was not going to wait for me to be able to “train” him. So we have struck up a deal. As the trust between us has grown, I saw no reason why he could not hang with me a bit each day. So I have taken to welcoming Beauty to free time in the yard, particularly at mealtime. In the summer we eat outdoors and he has clearly enjoyed being part of the event.

Everyone is excited and part of the routine, including the dogs, cats and sheep. Of course, the two rules of life here: 1. Respect yourself and everyone / every thing else and 2. Live as consciously as you can – are essential components of safety. But these basics also allow for a freedom that is rare.

I love it when love trumps fear. I think a lot more of what people call “magic” is quite possible if we allow it. Each day is filled with wonder and delight for those who can see…. beauty.

Get what you need.

Beauty at dinner

 

 

One thought on “You can’t always get what you want

  1. Thank you for this post and bringing Beauty to our side of the fence,

    On Wed, Jul 13, 2016 at 7:08 AM, let kindness win wrote:

    > denaeakles posted: “But if you try sometimes you just might find you get > what you need… Beauty is a rescued mule. He is willful and curious just > like me. He is not as fan of needless boundaries – also like me – and we > are starting to work out our plan of coexistence. I hav” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

